top of page

And the tour continues...

It seems as thought I dropped off the face of the earth after my last blog post, which officially concluded my 2016 Tour de Parks. I really didn't; basically I just was taking a well-deserved rest.

Back in March, at the invitation of the Adirondack Mountain Club of the Genesee Valley, I made my Tour presentation to a packed house at the Eisenhart Auditorium as part of the club's monthly meeting. I must say, though, it was a challenge doing so.

The date the meeting was originally scheduled, March 8, was the evening we had that massive windstorm, I had to drive around trees and wind my way through closed roads just to get to the pre-meeting dinner, only to find when I got there that they had decided to postpone the event to the next week.

When we had a huge snowstorm.

So I FINALLY managed to pull off the presentation on Tuesday March 21. The club regularly records its meetings, so if you'd like to see my entire presentation, click here or on the photo. I met a lot of nice people, and there were a lot of cookies. I had a great time.

I actually enjoyed the experience so much (and had put so much time and effort into creating the presentation) that on the advice of ... someone, I can't remember who ... I decided to shop it around to the local libraries.

So several weeks ago I began Tour Part II, when I presented my talk again in front of a much smaller, although enthusiastic, crowd at the Webster Public Library. My second stop will be at the Brighton Library on Thursday June 1 at 6:30 p.m., and then I'll travel to the Pittsford Library on Monday June 26 at 7 p.m.

I have made a brochure listing all of the parks I visited, which someone ... I can't remember who .. suggested I post online. So if you can't make one of the presentations -- although I hope to can, because there might be cookies -- here's an image of the brochure which you can print off for yourself.

bottom of page