top of page

And that's a wrap.

Last Sunday I notched the last three parks in my 100-parks challenge. Two of them were in far-south Mendon, and I was lamenting the fact that I would be finishing my quest so far from home. But I'm glad I went.

Mendon Ponds Park

Mendon Ponds Park is huge, stretching 2,500 acres across the Pittsford/Mendon border. It's the largest of the Monroe County Parks, and has been named to the National Registry of Historic Landmarks due to its glacial history and resultant land forms.

It's bordered by Clover Street on the west and Pittsford-Mendon Center Road on the east. There are several entrances off of both of these roads, which lead into a park where you can pretty much do anything and everything. There are lodges and shelters, play fields, a playground, waterways for canoeing and kayaking ... well, you can see the whole list by clicking here.

The park is so large, for that matter, that the map does not fit on a normal computer screen, so it was difficult to copy it to post here. Here is the direct link instead.

I was mostly interested in the hiking trails, as usual, and there are lots of them -- more than 20 miles. I figured it would take me about to days to explore them all. I originally planned to check out the 3-mile long Southern Meadow Trail, so I found my way to Pond Road. But as soon as I turned onto the road, my plans changed.

I had happened upon the entrance to the Mendon Ponds Park Nature Center, and something called Wild Wings. I was in the mood to explore, so I got out of my car and started poking around.

Wild Wings, as I was to find out, is a bird sanctuary. I didn't go into the sanctuary, but I did check out the gift shop and ALMOST bought some Christmas presents. I may still have to go back there,

Then I turned my attention to the nature preserve and saw a trail. So I made a game-time decision to ditch my original plans and instead go down the yellow-blazed Nature Trail. My plan all along was to run a mile trail instead of hike it this time, so this 2-mile one seemed a perfect option.

I ultimately only ran the north circle of the trail. It was the perfect choice, since it measures exactly one mile. The trail is exceptionally well marked, beautiful and peaceful. True to its role as a nature trail, there are information kiosks, huts and tree markers all along the way, and several benches for relaxing. It's occasionally hilly and filled with roots, but nothing too difficult, making it a nice hike for families. Running it, however, proved to be more difficult than I had expected.

Because I was running, I didn't take any photos on the trail. Nor did I explore any others while I was there. But if the nature trail was any indication, the Mendon Ponds Park trails are all gorgeous. And since the park is pretty much out in the middle of nowhere, it's also a very peaceful and quiet setting.

I did take more photos as I was leaving the park, stopping every once in a while to check out some scenery and unusual benches.

The first two photos show some of the features in the open area of the nature center, before you head back into the woods. There are a few natural playground-like climbing things which the kids will enjoy.

I took these next several photos on the way out of the park. The first three are from a small parking lot at the entrance to the Devil's Bathtub trail. There's a beautiful large pond here. (The park is called Mendon Ponds, after all).

Mendon Center Park

This little park was one of those one-minute, one-photo stops. I actually took two photos, highlighting the only three features this park has: tennis courts, a drinking fountain and a parking lot. Snap, snap, and I was off to my last stop of the day.

Great Bend Park

This park can be a little hard to find. I say that from experience because I tried to find it several weeks ago on my last trip to the south towns, but I couldn't figure out where the entrance was. Different maps and directions seemed to indicate that you had to park on the shoulder of Clover Street, either at the intersection with the Lehigh Valley Trail or a bit father south.

On Sunday I had better luck. There is no sign indicating it's there, but I found a small parking lot across Clover from Sycamore Ridge. The trail there is also unmarked, but I came upon another hiker who was familiar with the area and assured me I could find my way out and back easily enough. So I pushed on.

What I found was a flat, wide, graveled trail that took me past some beautiful wetlands and along the Honeoye Creek. Nature was quiet and unadorned out here. Simple yet spectacular. During the summer I'm sure it was teeming with color, but on this day everything was brown. To some, it might have seemed a barren landscape. But I saw a hundred different browns, each one in the trees and brush and birdhouses subtly different from all the others. It was awe-inspiring.

It wasn't until about a quarter mile into the path that I saw any indication I was in the park, and that was when I was actually leaving the park: a sign welcoming hikers from the main Lehigh Valley Trail.

Just beyond that sign I came upon the main branch of the Lehigh Valley Trail. I was going to turn around there, but I looked to the west and saw an old rail car and what appeared to be a replica train station.

I smelled history.

Sure enough, I followed the trail another quarter mile to the west, to Plains Road, apparently the location of the former Rochester Junction train station, now a hamlet. The station's foundation and a few other interesting historical features are still there. At this point, of course, you're hiking along the old rail bed which has long since been turned into very hiker and biker-friendly Lehigh Valley Trail. That trail continues west from here, splitting into two branches.

I did finally turn around and took the same route back. The entire round trip was a mile and a half. This would be a great, easy hike for kids. It's flat and smooth, offers a few opportunities to get close to the creek, and the promise of history at the train station.

I don't really know how big this park is. I haven't been about to find out much about it online. Nor is there any trail map. I tend to think the trail I was on was the only one, and was certainly the only maintained one. There are a few bushwhacked trails that lead into the woods in places.

This was a beautiful, peaceful hike.

bottom of page