top of page

Milton R.Case Memorial Park, Webster


The Wood Street park entrance

Milton R. Case Park is 14 acres of wooded land nestled within the village of Webster, roughly between South Ave. (Rt. 250) to the east and Sherwood Ave. to the west. If you don't know it’s there, it’s easy to miss. There is a sign on South Ave., but it’s easy to speed by that one, and the other trailheads are tucked back into village neighborhoods.

The park’s trail system is quite short, which makes sense since the park itself is barely a quarter mile square. I walked every inch of the trails, which amounted to less than a mile, and even through snow it took me only about 20 minutes.

It is beautiful in there, a nice place for a short hike with the kids (the trails are flat and even), to walk the dog, or just to get away and contemplate life for a few minutes before dinner. Some kind of bird accompanied me for part of my hike, complaining all the way. I thought he was yelling at me, but then I noticed a beautiful red-tailed hawk flying high in the trees.

I wasn't able to find a trail map online, but there is one at each trailhead. I took a photo of it if you want to print it, but you really don't have to worry too much about getting lost. Even if you do make a wrong turn, you’re not ever far from civilization and recognizable roads.

There are four trailheads; one off of Rt. 250, a path at the intersection of Seneca and Iroquois streets, a cul-de-sac at the end of Wood Street (which is the extension of Sherwood) and one at the back of the Spry Middle School sports fields.

If you choose to check out this park, I recommend you park at the Wood Street cul-de-sac, and not the entrance on Rt. 250. Despite the fact that a park sign adjacent to a driveway would seem to indicate that the drive is actually part of the park, and there is no other signage to the contrary, the very angry homeowner there will inform you that it is, actually, a private drive, and he will call the cops on you.

I can’t seem to find out who Milton R. Case was. If anyone has a clue, please let me know.

The hand-drawn trail map
You're never too far from the village; these are the water towers

Come spring, this trailhead sign, behind Spry MS, will probably be obliterated

bottom of page